Skip to content

Coffee Talk: Sightglass

September 21, 2011

photo via Laughing Squid


After reading the results of 7×7‘s recent blind taste test of Bay Area coffees, I realized that I had never tried the top contender–Sightglass. They recently opened their first retail location on 7th St. in SOMA, and I dropped by the other day to taste it for myself. Like many other specialty coffee shops, they offer pour-over and espresso drinks only. So, what makes Sightglass different?

The friendly barista welcomed my questions, and informed me that most coffee roasters in the area offer several different roasts across the spectrum, light-to-medium roasts being very popular. Sightglass, however, does only light roasts. Even their espresso is light.

The result is a subtle, more tea-like taste, described by some as fruity. I tried the Kenya Nyeri PB Ruthagati, which was not as bright as other African coffees I’ve tried, and noticibly sweet–especially about 3/4 of the way down. At $5.75 a cup I don’t think it could become part of my daily ritual, but I found it delicious. If you’re looking for a quality, hand-crafted cup of coffee that lives up to the hype, check Sightglass out. They prove that you don’t have to be “bold” to be exciting.

Can’t make it to San Francisco? Get it brewed at Modern Coffee in downtown Oakland, or take it home from Whole Foods.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    September 21, 2011 10:29 am

    Sounds like a real treat for coffee lovers and perhaps a gift idea for those of us that have run out of ideas!

Leave a Reply

