Skip to content

Art in a Box, 2nd Piece

September 9, 2009

Yay! Last night the Compound Gallery held a special event for the Art In a Box subscribers, at which we were all allowed to make our own selection from the available pieces and trade previously received items if we so desired.

Despite a late arrival, I was stoked to see that there were still a few ceramics from artist Alissa Goss and I nabbed the piece pictured above. It was the first one that caught my eye, and after much back-and-forth over the multitude of great work to choose from, I decided to go with my initial gut feeling. I have much admiration for the work that goes into sculpture and ceramics, having little knowledge or resources for it myself, and was really drawn to its metallic luster and organic shape. I’m excited to see how it will pair with my first month’s piece, from Shannon Ingraham:

Additionally, there will be more great sculptural work from another talented Compound affiliate, Crystal Morey, in a show opening this coming Saturday, from 6-9 pm:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

