Skip to content

Monday Leftovers: cooking with Bourbon

August 17, 2009
Bourbon Pecan Cupcakes
with Bourbon-Brown Sugar Buttercream
photo & recipe via Rice and Beans and Other Fine Things

Ever since I had that homemade Bourbon Peach ice cream a while back, it’s been like a light bulb went off in my head. Whiskey is one of my least favorite liquors, but hot damn does it taste good in food. Scrounging in my cupboard for possible cupcake ingredients, who knew that half a bag of chopped pecans and a jar full of brown sugar could suddenly be so magical when mixed with a bottle of Seagram’s?! Thanks to this wonderful recipe found over at this adorable blog, I was able to make that magic happen. All the Mississippi women in my family would be proud, for sure.

On a side note:
While eating these deliciously pseudo-alcoholic morsels, I can only imagine the kind of classic Paula faces I’m making:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

