Skip to content

Another Reason Why the Bay Area Rocks: Dave Eggers

June 11, 2009

Yup, the Bay Area claims McSweeney’s and 826 Valencia, both founded by this amazingly talented Boston-transplant. I remember buying A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius in an airport when I was fairly young, and just being really excited about the almost-on-Real-World-San-Francisco subplot. I think I was too young to be reading it at the time- but I knew this guy was on to something.

Tomorrow, I’m excited to say, is the opening of the film Away We Go, which was written by Eggers and his wife. With an amazing cast: John Krasinski, Maya Rudolph, Catherine O’Hara, Jeff Daniels, and Maggie Gyllenhaal, and what sounds like an equally amazing soundtrack… this will probably end up in my DVD collection right next to Garden State.

Funny in a touching and poignant way, it definitely seems to encapsulate the current time and place for a lot of people. Case in point, doesn’t Krasinski’s recessionisto beard-n-glasses look just seem so relevant right now?! I’m definitely not complaining…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

