Skip to content

Got My Wall Did!

May 19, 2009
It’s amazing how much work went into something that was basically only a touch-up….


So yeah, when our landlord decided to randomly switch all of our toilets out with smaller, low-flow ones he didn’t feel the need to patch the wall where the old one had been. When I recently went to the Berkeley EcoHome Improvement for a class and saw all the great stuff there, I was inspired to take on the project myself – I do need the practice after all, right?

So steps involved include: taping off the section of wall to be painted, puttying and sanding the holes and bumps and whatnot, priming with two coats and finally two top coats. What took so long was letting everything dry between steps- I hadn’t taken this into account and therefore the place looked straight tore-up for about two weeks. The paint is a cool greenish grey from Benjamin Moore’s new fancypants Aura line, which my mom had left over from a bathroom redo of her own- not sure of the color’s name off the top of my head though.

While I was at it, I decided to clean up that nasty pipe in the corner- which became a project unto itself. This meant scraping and cleaning all the peeling paint and heavy-duty rust… fingers crossed for no toxic side affects down the line. I then used a hardcore rust-colored primer and two topcoats of glossy white from Rustoleum.

What I’m probably most stoked about though, is no more damn litterbox. Where did it go, you ask? I got rid of the damn cat.

No, actually it is now inoffensively placed under the wall-mounted sink (out of the frame, but to the left) behind a drape made from white cafe curtains (Target), thanks to a generous donation of a box that actually fits under there. The storage cart was another donation, and now holds all the crap that was once under the sink. I’m still debating whether to install a shelf with boxes over the toilet to put that stuff, since it’s still kind of a tight fit.

I’m also debating whether or not to knock the cost off my rent, since I essentially just did my landlord an epic favor…

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 22, 2009 12:16 am

    Awesome job M!

Leave a Reply

