Skip to content

Saved by Music

March 31, 2009


I can’t possibly express how absolutely stoked on life I am right now. So I had jury duty yesterday, and I was potentially going to be schlepping to a civil trial that was scheduled to last through June. But I am now thanking the powers that be for letting me find a cosmological loophole to the way things work and ought to be. Oddly enough, this happens to manifest itself in the form of COACHELLA.

A little while back I booked my flight to Ontario and put in a notice at work for paid vacation. Awesome enough, right? Well apparently since I did that, I was able to get my boss to shoot the court an email verifying my pre-scheduled time off and they excused me! No questions asked, no postponement… Sayonara for at least another 12 months. Never have I been so glad to decide on going to the 3-day desert fest that is Coachella.

Lesson of the day… schedule a vacation every few months, just in case. You never know when you’re going need one of those ‘get out of jail FREE’ cards. So, since I have Coachella to thank for all of this, I figured I should dedicate a little BAB time to it.

There are too many bands to be stoked for, but aside from the bigger headliners there are a few which I haven’t seen and will be sure NOT to miss. Leonard Cohen, Beirut and M. Ward have all either played or are going to play locally with well-warranted high ticket prices… so obviously seeing those three on the first day more than makes up for the cost of a one-day ticket along with Morrissey and Sir Paul. New mama MIA, Band of Horses, MSTRKRFT, Para One, and Blitzen Trapper will make for an eclectic array of highlights for the second day. My Bloody Valentine, PB&J, Devendra Banhart, Lykke Li, No Age and Shepard Fairey (?!) top my list for the third day.

Acts which I’ve seen and certainly wouldn’t mind seeing again: Conor Oberst, Crystal Castles, TVOTR, Fleet Foxes, Jenny Lewis, Dr. Dog, Amanda Palmer, Liars, Junior Boys, Gang Gang Dance, YYY’s, the Kills, Okkervil River. Bands which I’m unfamiliar with but have heard great things about: Los Campesinos!, Ariel Pink, Friendly Fires.

Ok, I apologize for all the High-Fidelity worthy listing here- I’ve just realized how utterly amped I should be. Anyone else going? Any highlights you’d recommend checking out?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

