Skip to content

HCFM: Grand Lake

March 27, 2009

guest post by Meghan of SomaFM

I’ve found that the “it takes one to know one” rule is never more true than with local musicians. Time after time, awesome local musicians turn me on to other awesome local artists. On a tip from Brian of Scissors for Lefty, I looked into Grand Lake and was not disappointed. The shimmery bass line and pseudo-New Wave vocals on “Concrete Blonde on Blonde” make me slightly nostalgic for the charming Oakland ‘hood their name references.

Grand Lake are celebrating the release of their first full-length, Nevermint, at LoBot Gallery in East Oakland tonight. With fellow indie kids Starfucker, Man/Miracle and Guidance Counselor in attendance, it promises to be a good time.

Concrete Blonde On Blonde from Joe Golling on Vimeo

(It also promises to be a great cheap date- tix are only $5!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2009 4:56 pm

    This video is beautiful! I love the way it’s shot- it makes mundane everyday things (like the MacArthur Maze!) look pretty dang awesome 🙂

  2. March 27, 2009 4:56 pm

    This video is beautiful! I love the way it’s shot- it makes mundane everyday things (like the MacArthur Maze!) look pretty dang awesome 🙂

  3. March 27, 2009 11:28 pm

    I was just going to say that! It made me want to live in the Bay Area… ’til i realized I already do. lol

  4. March 27, 2009 11:28 pm

    I was just going to say that! It made me want to live in the Bay Area… ’til i realized I already do. lol

Leave a Reply

