Skip to content

Currently Obsessed With: Department of Eagles

January 27, 2009

Last night seems so far away…. I had the extreme pleasure of seeing Department of Eagles, on their first tour, at Cafe Du Nord and am already anticipating their return. We attended the earlier of two shows, and I could feel myself pouting as they forced us all to leave, like an upset little puppy. Note to self: if a band plays two shows in one night, the later show offers more opportunity for stalkage.

I’ve previously been to shows at the tiny Cafe with music snobs who complain about the sound quality, but shit if I can tell the difference. It sounded a.maz.ing. For “No One Does It Like You” they slowed the tempo, gave it an almost bluesy vibe, and really emphasized the dramatic pauses. It was heavier and sadder in a way that seemed more fitting for a live performance. Fred Nicolaus and Daniel Rossen were backed by members of Grizzly Bear, and the whole gang was really impressive. Dan’s voice is perfectly surreal, but more surprising is how good Fred’s voice is as well. They busted out a few new songs which was exciting, but I have to say the highlight of the show (for me, anyways) was when Fred was given a chance to fly solo for his bevy of family members sitting in the audience. Unaccompanied on the stage, I actually teared up when he touchingly sang “…oh, little one, we’re in trouble again…” I have searched endlessly today to find out more about that song, but to no avail. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a youtube video to pop up sooner or later…

Here’s a video of ‘Phantom Other’ from the show, via The OCMD

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2009 7:39 am

    I’ve been obsessed with the last new song from that show, which was also thick with layers of looped vocals. I want to hear it again NOW.

  2. January 27, 2009 7:39 am

    I’ve been obsessed with the last new song from that show, which was also thick with layers of looped vocals. I want to hear it again NOW.

Leave a Reply

