Skip to content

Just a Thought…

January 21, 2009

…the City of Berkeley charges you an extra $2.00 for paying your parking tickets online. As in, the fast-and-paperless-and-thus-more-eco-friendly online. Giving new meaning to convenience fee, much?

So, I’m torn: do I pay online because it’s quicker and more “convenient” *ahem* … or save myself $2.00 (per ticket- yes, I have more than one.) by making the City and Postal Service use the inefficient snail-mail system?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 10:47 pm

    I vote the former. I’m all about improving my carbon footprint whenever I can (no, I’m not always successful at it, but I try). I expedite my bill payments and banking online and (as you know) buy stuff with the click of a mouse. Which isn’t all that eco-friendly, after all. The click of a mouse does a little damage to the environment, too. By doing a simple Google search, the results are returned in a few thousandths of a second, which amounts to 0.0003 kWh of energy used/wasted per search. The average adult needs about 8000 kJ a day of energy from food, so a Google search uses just about the same amount of energy that your body burns in ten seconds.Then again, I also like the idea of not paying the tickets at all – I got a citation for jaywalking once, and after that, lost all respect for the chubby blue line.

  2. January 21, 2009 10:47 pm

    I vote the former. I’m all about improving my carbon footprint whenever I can (no, I’m not always successful at it, but I try). I expedite my bill payments and banking online and (as you know) buy stuff with the click of a mouse. Which isn’t all that eco-friendly, after all. The click of a mouse does a little damage to the environment, too. By doing a simple Google search, the results are returned in a few thousandths of a second, which amounts to 0.0003 kWh of energy used/wasted per search. The average adult needs about 8000 kJ a day of energy from food, so a Google search uses just about the same amount of energy that your body burns in ten seconds.Then again, I also like the idea of not paying the tickets at all – I got a citation for jaywalking once, and after that, lost all respect for the chubby blue line.

  3. January 26, 2009 10:41 pm

    Incorrect, next question. I paid by snail mail because a) they provided self-adressed envelopes, b) I already had postage laying around, c)the extra time to process delays when money is actually taken from me and d) if everyone boycotts the online fees then perhaps they will see the error of their ways…

  4. January 26, 2009 10:41 pm

    Incorrect, next question. I paid by snail mail because a) they provided self-adressed envelopes, b) I already had postage laying around, c)the extra time to process delays when money is actually taken from me and d) if everyone boycotts the online fees then perhaps they will see the error of their ways…

Leave a Reply

