Skip to content

A Working Girl’s Christmas

December 12, 2008

Does it make sense when I say that the holidays are stressful, but the good kind of stressful? I am just as much of a nerd about decorating and party planning and cooking all kinds of delicious… I just don’t understand why I have to work full time and go to school too- don’t they see I have more important things to do?!

So, I would be posting more holiday-related stuff, but it seems like everything is needing to be started, finished, and bundled up nicely with a big red bow all at the same time, and all right now! Know what I mean?So for anyone who knows one of those “I’ll- Do-It-All-If-It-Kills-Me” kind of gals, here’s a list of useful gifts…

‘I Can Do Anything’ Tool Set from See Jane Work. $70 … You would be surprised how many girls really need this! Ladies, you can’t rely on handymen allll the time. (ps- you really can’t go wrong with anything from this site!)

At work I often need to see the entire year at a quick glance when on the phone or scheduling meetings. This 2009 Letterpress Wall Calendar would be perfect- featuring my favorite little animals as well as one of my favorite color schemes! $25 from Sycamore Street Press (ps- also comes in an awesome red and chartreuse scheme, and 50% of all profits go to AHOPE, an orphanage for children who are HIV+ in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia)

Large Zero Messenger Bag for $60 from San Francisco’s own Rickshaw Bagworks (from the dudes who started Timbuk2 bags, but way more affordable). At 12.5″ x 22″ x 9″, this baby is big enough to lug around my 11×17 portfolio to and from night class. Last night Rickshaw held its Launch Party at their Dogpatch warehouse, which you can visit in person to have bags custom made!

What would my morning routine be without a hot cup of something or other? A gift that would keep on giving: a year of get-up-and-go from Peet’s, the Historic Bay Area Caffeine Hero. Choose from 3-12 months, depending on your price range. Not a coffee drinker? How about tea?

Like many people, I love Orla Kiely prints but can’t afford a pretty purse… Instead I’d like to enjoy organizing my lists and doodles with this nifty little notebook, for $15. Or, how about her famously cheery print on a mug to enjoy every morning with the aforementioned delicious coffee?

DIY type? Daily Candy just featured the Craft Haven Collective, located in Portrero Hill, which features all sorts of classes for every skill and interest. My top pick? Uber Basics, a one day intro to all the sewing stuff I’d never have time to teach myself, for $56. This would be great to do with a girlfriend or two. (*Anyone interested?*)

If anyone is like me, often you come home at the end of the day and want to do NOTHING. My top pick for chilling on the couch after a long day of thinking and doing is DVDs of the latest and greatest TV shows: Mad Men, Dexter, It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, 30 Rock, and the Office

So that basically sums up what someone like me would appreciate receiving. It’s apparent now that I never think about what I want until I start shopping for others- shame on me! Next year I’ll have to better prepared, now won’t I?
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

