Skip to content

Back to the Grind

December 3, 2008

magnificent jellies! (if they look this good on a camera phone, just imagine them in person!)

Thanksgiving break is such a tease of a vacation, isn’t it? I don’t know about you, but I for one am having one hell of a time getting back into the swing of things.

With work and family time, I didn’t have much of a chance to get away. Day-trips, however, are an awesome way to get a quick change of scenery. Since I was bound and determined to stay away from all possible urban/retail/traffic/trampling scenes I decided to take advantage of the great weather and venture down to Monterey to visit the amazing aquarium there. The Monterey Bay Aquarium is worthy of a full-day excursion, as it is huge and beautiful and packed with awesome creatures and exhibits which CAS cannot even hold a candle to! Among my favorite exhibit? The plentitude of adorable otters, followed closely by the gorgeous jellyfish, and the ‘touching pools’ which instantly turned me into a squealing kid again. Tickets are a little steep, but I can’t recommend this place enough if you’re looking for a day’s worth of stuff to do- the aquarium is located on the quaint (if a bit touristy) Cannery Row, with the picturesque town of Carmel-by-the-Sea only a short drive away.

Overall, it was a great long weekend. I hope everyone else had as much fun, relaxation, and delicious food as I did! Also, I’d like to say a special thanks to Meghan for her excellent contribution on Friday- it’s nice to get some sunny SoCal vibes every now and then 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

