Skip to content

Relieved Ratatouille

November 6, 2008

If you’re anything like me, you were an anxious wreck from Monday evening well into yesterday afternoon. While I wish I could say I’ve felt nothing but elation regarding the election’s outcomes, I have to honestly admit that it just isn’t so. Without hesitation, I can say that I am utterly relieved about the presidential victor. But… the consequences of California’s Prop votes have tainted the would-be glorious smell of victory and instead I am left with a somewhat bittersweet taste in my mouth.

I, for one, needed to find solace in something a little heartier than those discounted ‘Obamartinis.’
And what better way to take your mind off things than comfort food?

So I set it upon myself to make a new dish, because I just simply am not busy enough and love to torture myself with new projects! Ah, but what a gloriously triumphant outcome this was:


Who needs red, white, and blue when you can gorge on red, yellow, and green?
photo courtesy of smittenkitchen.com

Ratatouille! I found this contemporary version of the recipe on the adorable and beautiful blog Smitten Kitchen, and was quite taken by the fact that it was modeled after the triumphant titular dish of the animated film.

How did I not discover until last week that one of the dish’s main ingredients is eggplant?!Being such a fan of the the little purple perfections, I had one on hand and easily rounded up the few other veggies necessary for this gorgeous dish. And let me tell you, it really does end up looking like the above picture. (I am a sucker for aesthetics and have now decided that this is what I am contributing to the Great Family Thanksgiving Reunion). Plus, if you want something to take your mind off things for a while, slicing all those suckers will easily do the trick!

A few tips after making it though: First, give yourself a good two hours if there is only one person prepping- the first for all the slicing (if by hand, like me) and assembling, the second for baking. Second, I served it with couscous but feel that polenta might have been even more delicious, especially since (3) serving it with goat cheese was nothing less than CLUTCH and gave the dish a tangy punch which lent itself to tasting lasagna-like.

Have I swayed your vote in favor of trying a piece of baked heaven? Recipe’s right here.

Hey, perhaps you were among those who weren’t relieved with the election outcome. Don’t worry, this dish is nonpartisan. So, indulge in the whims of an ex-pat and revel in the je ne sais quoi of its warmth and heartiness. They don’t call it comfort food for nothing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

