Skip to content

Happy Catchy Friday Music: Robert Plant & Alison Krauss

October 3, 2008

One of the reasons that fall happens to be my favorite season: the plethora of musical acts who come to town for live performances. If I hadn’t already bought my ticket for Sigur Ros tonight, I’d be checking out the waaaay cheaper weekend-long Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival in Golden Gate Park. And when I say ‘way cheaper’ I actually mean, uh, FREE. Sounds pretty good during an economic crisis right?

Unfortunately, I do not have the time nor the resources to check out the much-talked about collaboration between Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, who are headlining tonight:

While Bluegrass is certainly not my forte, I give kudos to the event for being free and thus spreading exposure to those who might never even know what it is. And, as the name implies, the Festivus can appeal to the Rest of Us! Well-known names like Emmylou Harris, Earl Scruggs, and Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy play alongside such diverse acts as Iron & Wine, Gogol Bordello, and *Quoi?!* even MC Hammer….

And, again, it’s free. So grab a cooler full of beer and go prove that Bluegrass is not just for Palin-lovers!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

