Skip to content

Latest Enjoyments

August 7, 2008

Life’s little pleasures- from the recent past, currently, and in the near future.

  • Playing hooky from work and instead riding my bike around lovely College Ave. for some Holy Land falafel and discounted eye candy at Jeremy’s. (They have guys’ stuff too!)
  • Hitting up the Starry Plough for a healthy dose of local indie bands (check out The Aimless Never Miss for a happier-sounding Placebo vibe, or the New Centuries merely for the song titled ‘Moonlit Kawasaki Ride.’ Loves it.) Next ‘Indie’ night is August 15th, cover is $8.
  • Getting my Old Lady fix of all that is small-town quaintness and domestic bliss by spending an afternoon on lil tree-covered Hopkins Street, to buy gardening supplies at the awesomely gorgeous Berkeley Hort and scope out the incredibly cheap local produce at Monterey Market. I definitely suggest lunch outside of Espresso Roma or indulging in a treat from the Country Cheese Coffee Market, as well.
  • Further fueling my music addiction by finally starting a Last.fm account- by george, why didn’t I have one of these sooner?! Still got a few kinks to it, but the new interface is nice.
  • Renewing my devoted love for cheese fondue via Palomino in San Francisco. Right off the Embarcadero, it has an incredible view of the bay. I don’t, however, recommend the steak salad.
  • Trading pointless distractions with friends online, like the impressively on-point Hipsters in Space video… (thanks Lauren! – PS, what does it mean if I’m blogging about this right now?)
  • Paying homage to the historic Tokyo Fish Market on San Pablo, to peruse the plenitude of Japanese wares and buy primo fish for rolling one’s own sushi (learning!).

So what becomes apparent to me as I read this list?
The three things I derive the greatest pleasure from: good food, good music, good people.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2008 6:35 pm

    My friend Andrew’s grandparents own the “Holy Land” restaurant. Isn’t that crazy?! It’s so good there. And to answer your question Maris, I don’t know what you blogging right now says about you in regards to the “Hipsters in Space Video.” Maybe it should be left unanswered. šŸ™‚

  2. August 13, 2008 6:35 pm

    My friend Andrew’s grandparents own the “Holy Land” restaurant. Isn’t that crazy?! It’s so good there. And to answer your question Maris, I don’t know what you blogging right now says about you in regards to the “Hipsters in Space Video.” Maybe it should be left unanswered. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

