Skip to content

Hallelujah for the Bike Church

June 6, 2008

After a traumatic freshman year of college, filled with near-misses with cars and half a dozen pairs of ripped pants, I swore never again to ride a bike. I even went as far as to join a group on Facebook aptly named ‘I Don’t Do Bikes.’

However, it took a worldwide crisis of skyrocketing fuel prices to finally make me reconsider. When my $20 bill no longer provided half a tank of gas, I made the promise: Okay, if gas ever hits $4.00 a gallon, then I am going to start riding a bike. Boy, did that day come quick.

So after several weeks of hunting for a bike, and realizing that I know little to nothing about the two-wheeled things, I turned to Matt aka The Bike Expert to help me. When I went down to Santa Cruz last weekend for a visit, he kindly helped me look all day for a bike that a) was my size, b) was relatively lightweight, c) was NOT a fixie (sorry to all you trendies out there) and d) cute, if possible. After several hysterical attempts to try out several bikes (hysterical for Matt, not me) I thought we were pretty much SOL, but by the end of the day…. TA DAH:

At the end of Pacific Ave. in Santa Cruz is a little bike co-op called the Bike Church, and within minutes of walking into the place I found this little blue Nishiki 18-speed… all lonely and neglected in the corner with a hand-scrawled price tag of a measly $45! Neither of us had ever been there before, so we weren’t quite sure how it ‘worked’ but the people were super nice and a very knowledgeable guy named Ian showed us how to mount the bike ourselves and what tools to use to fix it up.

After a couple hours of cleaning and tweaking and air-pumping, I came away feeling very self-empowered indeed. The best part is that the Bike Church doesn’t charge anything and works off of donations. I was so happy that they weren’t pretentious or condescending to me (y’know for being in a girly dress and not wanting to get dirty and having my boyfriend do all the work) that I gave them $10 bucks even though they said it wasn’t necessary.

So what I originally willing to spend a couple hundred bucks on ended up only costing me less than $80. Hell yah, Bike Church!! Now my next challenge is to learn to ride the thing.
They say it’s like riding a bike, but let me tell you that it’s not.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2008 6:33 pm

    hey maris… i read this a while ago, and while my magic gas number was about two quarters later than yours… i’m now riding a cute little bike from the bike church. thanks for the info, what a great place!ali

  2. July 9, 2008 6:33 pm

    hey maris… i read this a while ago, and while my magic gas number was about two quarters later than yours… i’m now riding a cute little bike from the bike church. thanks for the info, what a great place!ali

Leave a Reply

