Skip to content

"Thalassa" means "Favorite New Bar"

March 11, 2008

Thalassa
2367 Shattuck Ave
(between Channing Way & Durant Ave)

As some of you might know, my friend Nicole and I have been attempting to get out on the town once a week to try new restaurants, bars, etc. Outings have been hindered as of late, due to the hectic schedule of the typical career-girl life. BUT, we did get back on our feet with a chill little evening out to the conveniently close Thalassa Bar- an AMAZING suggestion by Nicole, I must say.

Although trivia night at the Pasand Lounge is always good and fun and whatnot, we just wanted to try something new. Thalassa is just across the street, but you would never know it’s there but for the simple neon cocktail glass in the window. So- where do I begin? 14 beers on tap, a dozen pool tables, juke box (playing the likes of Bow Wow Wow and Built to Spill- yes please!), arcade games, outdoor patio (with pool table)…. stop me if it sounds too good to be true.

But what really got me was the Las Vegas-Tiki Lounge- Pirates of the Carribean- Dive Bar decor. If I walk into a place and it’s boring, then count me out. This place is not boring. Case in point: pendant lights made from taxidermied puffer fish. As weird and gross as this sounds, I was so impressed at the ingenuous design and ambient light they produce. Not that I would ever want one in my home- trend alert! antlers, marlins… blowfish? nah… – I almost went ape$&!+ trying to find where you could get them online. Alas, the only sites I have come across are weird tiki themed sites and one named Pelican Poop or some such nonsense. Photos hardly do the things justice (I was lucky enough to find this one on flickr) so I’ll have to drag some unfortunate souls down to Shattuck to see them in person….


If interested, check out the going rates for pool tables at Thalassa’s site, and check out the good ratings on Yelp!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2008 10:36 pm

    I think Michael and I are gonna hit up Thalassa for a few hours during my spring break and reserve a pool table. Anyone else want in?

  2. March 14, 2008 10:36 pm

    I think Michael and I are gonna hit up Thalassa for a few hours during my spring break and reserve a pool table. Anyone else want in?

  3. March 14, 2008 11:00 pm

    as long as it’s not when i’m working! but make sure you get it before 8 so it’s cheaper…

  4. March 14, 2008 11:00 pm

    as long as it’s not when i’m working! but make sure you get it before 8 so it’s cheaper…

  5. March 16, 2008 5:28 pm

    There’s also a place to play darts, AND there’s even a shuffle board! Personally, I’m all about engaging in a shuffle board game. But watch out if you play a game with me; I’ve been known to be a pro.

  6. March 16, 2008 5:28 pm

    There’s also a place to play darts, AND there’s even a shuffle board! Personally, I’m all about engaging in a shuffle board game. But watch out if you play a game with me; I’ve been known to be a pro.

Leave a Reply

