Skip to content

Day Trippin’

February 15, 2008

Art, flowers, and Wine Country- what else could be a more perfect weekend daytrip?

I don’t know, but something’s in the air- maybe it’s the fact that it’s Friday, maybe it’s the unusual stint of wonderful weather we’re having right now- but I am absolutely hankering for some outdoor fun. The fact that my design teacher told us all about this AWESOME sounding place in Sonoma is not helping: the pictures do no it no justice, I’m sure:

Located in Sonoma, CA- the Cornerstone Festival of Gardens is a 9-acre walking tour of its only kind in the United States. Based off a similar project in France, you can do self-guided tours or go in a group. Each installation is done by a different landscape architect, and features some kind of main theme or principal whether it be scale, line, movement or even socio-political ideas. Although I’ve always been interested in design and interiors, I’ve never given much thought to landscape architecture until I saw the wonderful things being done here. I am definitely dragging anyone and everyone possible to go see this- and the part I am most looking forward to seeing:
Blue Tree by Claude Cormier takes the idea of erasing something via Photoshop and applying it literally to a dying tree that was going to be removed from the site. 70,000 sky-blue Christmas balls are meant for total camouflage. But, as the Cornerstone site explains, “the opposite result occurs: Blue Tree stands out against the ever-changing sky, becoming a barometer for subtle fluctuations in light.” – I was so amazed by this tree that I investigated some of Cormier’s other work:

Colorful, whimsical, and very humorous (in my opinion)- this stuff is inspiring me for spring, and I’m already plotting my escape to Canada, where most of his works are featured. But since that won’t be happening anytime soon, I’ll be satisfied to make the short trek to Sonoma for the Cornerstone, where guided tours can be had for the unbelievable price of $6.00!!

If this is your kind of thing, as it is mine, I must also recommend the nearby Di Rosa Preserve, which feature art galleries and giant sculptures scattered throughout meadows and vineyards, followed by champagne-tasting at Domaine Carneros, literally across the street!




2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2008 9:03 pm

    ok can we go to this? it looks rad. i need to get out of the city too.

  2. February 19, 2008 9:03 pm

    ok can we go to this? it looks rad. i need to get out of the city too.

Leave a Reply

