Skip to content

More Culinary Adventures

January 29, 2008


So, so far most of these entries have been food-oriented. Coming soon is what is sure to be a hysterical review of Slim’s in San Francisco, where we saw the Liars last Friday. I also have a list of shops in the area I plan to hunt down, once I have a free weekend. But, until those are up, I’ll “quickly” tell you about Addis Ethiopian on Telegraph.

So me and one of my new fwends decided we’ve been needing to have a girls’ night out, what with our busy schedules and not being able to really hang out one-on-one. We decided to try this Ethiopian place because neither of us had ever tried it and I’ve been hankering for the exotic. To make a long story short, it was fabulously fun and I even went back on a double-date lunch less than a week later!

So Addis looks like an inconspicuous place from the outside, but the inside is all warm neutrals with bamboo dividers for privacy and paper lanterns hanging from the ceiling. There is an awesome corner spot with a low table, where you sit on these really low cushion/stools under a grass-mat awning. We totally need to snag that spot next time. Anyways, we got the big combo plate since we didn’t know what to get, and were a little uneasy when the large platter came with no utensils and no extra plates. You scoop up the dishes, which have a similar saucy consistency to Indian food, with this crepe-like bread. It’s all family style, so it’s great for that communal no-modesty vibe. We got the honey mead wine to go along with it, which I’ve heard great things about, and it was delicious pared with the food- although a little too sweet for me on its own.

The only problem I have with this place is that it was a little pricey both times. Now, this can be subjective- but a $20 a person is what I file under ‘special occasion’- maybe I’m still in starving student mode? Granted, the wine does add on a bit, and both times we definitely had more food than we could handle, so with that said I guess it was rather reasonable. Next time I go back, which will have to be a little while, I know that the combo plate is enough for 3- maybe 4- people. But this is a great place to go when you’re bored of pizza/burgers/italian/salad so I say, at least try it once!

Follow it up with a drink at the Pasand Lounge on Shattuck, where every Wednesday night involves a 4-round game of Trivia, and you’re good to go for the evening. Not only am I a sucker for small bars with red walls, but we met some awesome people there and definitely learned a thing or two (after coming in second to last).

Hopefully last week’s dinner-and-a-drink will become an oft-repeated experience, because it was the most fun I’ve had in a long while! My personal goal is to try a new type of food every time until there’s nothing left to try. Next up? Himalayan or Burmese…. tune in next time to see how it goes ❤

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2008 11:28 pm

    aw ive always wanted to go to that restaurant. nicole told me you girls had a lot of fun that night. take me.

  2. January 31, 2008 11:28 pm

    aw ive always wanted to go to that restaurant. nicole told me you girls had a lot of fun that night. take me.

Leave a Reply

