Skip to content

"A la sature " to 2008

January 6, 2008

As I sit here, at approximately 11:20 pm on a Saturday night, I feel the urge to explain my motivation for this strange behavior known as ‘blogging.’ With the effective-as-crack Myspace on a spam-riddled downward spiral, and the ‘je ne sais quoi’ of Facebook losing steam, the increasing presence of the blog has finally caught my attention. Right place at the right time, I suppose? Let me just say- there’s nothing like a Google Reader to lend a can-do attitude to building your own little nug of creative perfection on the online. Me: “hey- if they can do it, so can I!” “well, everyone’s doing it.” “I’ll try it. Just to see how it feels.”

It’s the gateway drug to cybernetic whoredom- and to M&M down the hall, I thank you for that.

So with that being said, I believe an explanation for this e-monstrosity known as a ‘blog’ is in order. Alright, here goes: Basically- I want you, me, and everyone we know (love that phrase) to write about things we do, places we go, stuff we find, places we try out. Places to avoid, events to attend. love it? hate it? I want to know- maybe others do too. Sometimes we’ll see each other the next day and tell each other everything anyway- but frankly, these days I feel we all have more to catch up on.

Now, for my first official listing:

House of Curries
2520 Durant Ave.
Berkeley, CA

What to do on a glum rainy day with no pressing matters to attend to and a bad case of sniffle-itis? Hunker down for some exotic food that you’ve never tried before, of course! With no where we really had to be, and no money to do anything extraordinarily fabulous, we decided to try that Indian food place- y’know that one- down the street, which we always pass and say ‘we should go there sometime.’ Perhaps its location inside the Beau Sky Hotel had something to do with its strange allure.

Here’s what someone had to say on tripadvisor.com, just FYI:

Who would put a curry restaurant in the lobby of a hotel? The smell of curry permeates the entire building. Hasn’t been cleaned or remodeled in years. One of the most seedy rooms I have ever been in. No breakfast served, they gave us a coupon for the donut shop across the street…”

Tripadvisor, man- that will really make or break you.
But I’ll take that donut coupon if you don’t want it….

Being a relative newbie to Indian food, I let Matt do the ordering. As he ordered the Chicken Tikka Masala and Naan bread, and I ordered Lamb-something and rice, I surveyed the surroundings and deemed them satisfactorily standard. Walls of deep red, paper boats hanging from ceiling, non-plastic chairs, place is empty. Looks un-shady enough. Food was surprisingly delicious- I’m a skeptic, you know- and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of their free chai tea. For 2 sodas, two entrees, rice, and bread- we each paid approximately $9.00. More than enough for two, free chai, and within walking distance!

I knew it was too good to be true.

Approximately one hour after we had returned home- Naan other than Mr. Masala himself reared his ugly head. After some gut-wrenching and body-contorting torture. I vowed never to eat Indian food again.
That is, unless the place is open late. Like, 4am? On a Saturday night?
I mean, it is within walking distance, after all.

And to that, I say “A la sature,” 2008….

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2008 6:41 pm

    hot.

  2. January 6, 2008 6:41 pm

    hot.

  3. January 6, 2008 6:49 pm

    that’s the lamb vindaloo that brings the pain.

  4. January 6, 2008 6:49 pm

    that’s the lamb vindaloo that brings the pain.

  5. January 6, 2008 10:05 pm

    haha! bad indian will definitely F you up. but come on, you can’t give up on one of the richest cuisines in the world after one gastrointestinally distressing try! 3 words: Vik’s Chaat Corner. On Allston and 4th. I’ll show you the way. And if that fails, I’ll show you how to make kick A curries in the safety of your own studio. namaste,t.w.

  6. January 6, 2008 10:05 pm

    haha! bad indian will definitely F you up. but come on, you can’t give up on one of the richest cuisines in the world after one gastrointestinally distressing try! 3 words: Vik’s Chaat Corner. On Allston and 4th. I’ll show you the way. And if that fails, I’ll show you how to make kick A curries in the safety of your own studio. namaste,t.w.

  7. January 6, 2008 10:16 pm

    indian food is delicious and overwhelmingly filling. i always order too much. it also makes me sweat profusely from my brow, but it’s worth it. let’s go! or i’ll take you to Pakwan, there’s one in the Mission by my place, right on 16th! Yum.

  8. January 6, 2008 10:16 pm

    indian food is delicious and overwhelmingly filling. i always order too much. it also makes me sweat profusely from my brow, but it’s worth it. let’s go! or i’ll take you to Pakwan, there’s one in the Mission by my place, right on 16th! Yum.

  9. January 6, 2008 10:34 pm

    hey the newest post on that SF.Curbed blog you recommended shows a video of the storm aftermath a block away from my house, at 20th & De Haro!

  10. January 6, 2008 10:34 pm

    hey the newest post on that SF.Curbed blog you recommended shows a video of the storm aftermath a block away from my house, at 20th & De Haro!

  11. January 7, 2008 7:38 pm

    and then, if you’re still up for indian food after everyone has taking you out to try their favorites, i can take you to flavors of india on college way down near safeway. it’s never been a bad experience for me, and it’s super nice inside.

  12. January 7, 2008 7:38 pm

    and then, if you’re still up for indian food after everyone has taking you out to try their favorites, i can take you to flavors of india on college way down near safeway. it’s never been a bad experience for me, and it’s super nice inside.

Leave a Reply

